

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF VALLEY-WIDE RECREATION AND PARK DISTRICT

January 4, 2016

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

1.1. The special meeting of the Board of Directors of Valley-Wide Recreation and Park District was called to order at 5:32 p.m. January 4, 2016 at the District Office, 901 W. Esplanade Avenue, San Jacinto California by Vice President Duarte.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

2.1. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice President Duarte.

3. INVOCATION

3.1. The Invocation was led by Mr. Bragg.

4. ROLL CALL

Board of Directors

PRESENT: Matt Duarte, John Bragg, Frank Gorman

ABSENT: Larry Minor, Steve Simpson

STAFF: Dean Wetter, Sarah LeBorgne

OTHERS PRESENT: Tim Schults, Paula de Sousa Mills, Best Best & Krieger

5. AGENDA APPROVAL

5.1. On a motion by Mr. Gorman, second by Mr. Bragg the Board approved the agenda.

Motion carries by the following roll call vote:

Ayes: Duarte, Bragg, Gorman

Noes: None

Absent: Minor, Simpson

Abstain: None

6. PROCLAMATION

None

7. RECOGNITION

None

8. PUBLIC COMMENTS - NON AGENDA ITEMS

8.1. Mr. Shultz deeply commended Valley-Wide Recreation, and requested that the bathrooms are unlocked during evening adult softball game. Mr. Schultz also requested that Valley-Wide keep the parks safe, as the crime rates have increased in the valley and negative elements are resulting in a reduced positive user experience.

Mr. Wetter exchanged contact information with Mr. Schultz.

9. BOARD COMMENTS

9.1. Mr. Bragg requested additional information on public comment guidelines.

10. EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board entered into executive session at 5:46 regarding the following:

10.1. Government Code Section 54956.9 – Litigation – Initiation of Litigation – Gov. Code Section 54956.9(d)(4): Conference with Legal, Best Best & Krieger (1 case).

The Board closed executive session and reopened the meeting at 7:15 p.m. with no reportable action.

11. ADJOURNMENT

11.1. On a motion by Mr. Gorman, second by Mr. Duarte the Board adjourned the meeting at 7:15 p.m.

Motion carries by the following roll call vote:

Ayes: Duarte, Bragg, Gorman

Noes: None

Absent: Minor, Simpson

Abstain: None